All good things …

It was a difficult morning for me at Victory Baptist today, because it was my last Sunday there. I have been the interim MInister of Music since the beginning of July, and while it has had its ups and downs, it has been really up for me the last several months. The praise team had settled in and we were really coming together as a cohesive group. But that is what interims do, and it means that when Zane comes this week he’ll have a group that has learned that there is more than one to skin a cat and more than one way to lead worship and more than one key to do a song in.

As for me, I’ll be moving on to my next worship leading job in the near future, but I don’t know what the Lord has in store, yet. There is one church I have talked with, but we’ve not met on a price for services rendered, yet. Meanwhile, I have my resumé out at the four Baptist associations near here, and I know of at least four churches looking for interims or part time worship leaders. I also have a lot of people at my home church I’d like to see and worship with and enjoy some fellowship with for a couple of weeks – to kind of recharge my batteries before going back out and having to charge other people’s batteries. (Oh, and I continue to slog away at college, finishing that thing I started over 30 years ago. I’ll have my Associate’s at the end of 2009 and then will continue on to my bachelor’s immediately after. I kick myself often for not sticking it out the first time. Thankfully, we have a God of second chances!)

Now on to what we did this morning at Victory, as well as a list of what’s happening tonight.

Opening: Your Grace is Enough (G)
John 6:63-69 “‘The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you—they are full of the Spirit and life. Yet there are some of you who do not believe.’ For Jesus had known from the beginning which of them did not believe and who would betray him. He went on to say, ‘This is why I told you that no one can come to me unless the Father has enabled them.’ From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him. ‘Will you leave me also?’ Jesus asked the Twelve. Simon Peter answered him, ‘Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe and to know that you are the Holy One of God.’”
Baptism(s) / Welcome __________
Chorus: Come, Now is the Time to Worship (D)
Offering: Bro. Ed
Chorus: God of Wonders (G)
Hymn: # 411 Tis So Sweet (G)
(My arrangement)
Who can you trust nowadays? It’s a big issue. People say “Trust me” all the time, and then let you down. Even people who have never let you down before may disappoint you when you least expect it. But a quick check through the Bible tells us who we can always trust. Psalms 20:7 “Some men trust in chariots, some men trust in horses but we will trust in the name of the Lord.” Psalms 56:11 “…in God I trust and am not afraid. What can mere human beings do to me?” Actually, the entire book of Psalms is full of references to why we can trust God. Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;” In John 14, Jesus said, “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.”

Special – Mike Zimmerli – Rescue (Jared Anderson wrote it, but this was the Don Moen version – split trax)
I took the opportunity to tell the congregation what a privilege it has been to worship with them and get to them, and that regardless of where God calls me, I have said, “I will follow You, Lord.”

Sermon: Keeping Your Head in the Game (James 5:7-20) ……. Bro. Ed
Invitation Hymn # 450 I Need Thee Every Hour (Ab)

And then we had a great potluck! I was quite humbled by the outpouring of affection by the members, some that I have never really met but who are very sincere in how much it has meant to them for me to be there, standing in the gap for them. Carrot soufflé, pineapple au gratin casserole and sweet potato soufflé are all healthy for you, right?

On board for tonight:
Opening: I’ll Fly Away (E)
Welcome: ___________
Chorus: Jesus Messiah (G)
Hymn # 261 Wonderful Words of Life (F)
(My arrangement)
Offering: Bro. Ed
Chorus: Lord Reign in Me (C)
Chorus: The Heart of Worship (D)
Chorus: I Give You My Heart (G)

Vanuatu Mission Report

That was our Sunday. This post is part of the fun over at Fred McKinnon’s. Check it out to see what other churches are doing.

2 Comments on “All good things …”

  1. windbag says:

    Lots of great songs. Good list.

  2. Steffanie Oltmans says:

    Another church using “Jesus Messiah” this weekend! Great song!


Leave a Reply

